The NIAF Government Affairs Program

As a part of its mission, NIAF honors and empowers Italian American leadership at all levels of government. NIAF also reinforces the cultural and political ties that bind the United States and Italy. To these ends, NIAF organizes a series of events each year geared towards bringing together its public policy stakeholders: Italian American government leaders, Italian diplomatic officials and public policy professionals.

The Italian American Congressional Delegation

NIAF works closely with the bicameral and bipartisan Italian American Congressional Delegation (IACD). The IACD is currently co-chaired by The Honorable Bill Pascrell (NJ-9) and The Honorable Mark Amodei (NV-2) of the United States House of Representatives. Please visit the official websites of the IACD members to stay informed about the latest news.

Italian American Congressional Delegation (IACD) 117th Congress of the United States

Rep. Robert Aderholt
Rep. Mark Amodei
Sen. John Barrasso
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici
Rep. David Cicilline
Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto
Sen. Ted Cruz
Rep. Peter DeFazio
Rep. Diana DeGette
Rep. Rosa DeLauro
Rep. Suzan DelBene
Rep. Mike Doyle
Rep. Chuck Fleischmann
Rep. Jeff Fortenberry
Rep. Virginia Foxx
Rep. John Garamendi
Rep. Brian Higgins
Rep. Doug LaMalfa

Rep. John Larson
Sen. Patrick Leahy
Sen. Joe Manchin
Rep. Kevin McCarthy
Rep. Carol Miller
Rep. Joseph Morelle
Rep. Steven Palazzo
Rep. Frank Pallone
Rep. Jimmy Panetta
Rep. Bill Pascrell
Rep. Nancy Pelosi
Rep. Scott Peters
Rep. Tim Ryan
Rep. Steve Scalise
Rep. Darren Soto
Rep. Elise Stefanik
Rep. Thomas Suozzi
Rep. Mike Thompson
Rep. Brad Wenstrup
Rep. Jennifer Wexton

View the IACD Members’ Congressional Committees

116th Congress of the United States

Rep. Mark Amodei Appropriations
Sen. John Barrasso Energy and Natural Resources
Environment and Public Works
Foreign Relations
Indian Affairs
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici Education and Labor
Science, Space and Technology
Rep. Anthony Brindisi Agriculture
Veteran’ Affairs
Rep. David Cicilline Foreign Affairs
Sen. Catherine Cortez-Masto Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs
Energy and Natural Resources
Indian Affairs
Rules and Administration
Sen. Ted Cruz Commerce, Science and Transportation
Foreign Relations
Joint Economic Committee
Rules and Administration
Rep. Peter DeFazio Transportation
Rep. Diana DeGette Energy and Commerce
Rep. Rosa DeLauro Appropriations
Rep. Suzan DelBene Ways and Means
Rep. Mike Doyle Energy and Commerce
Sen. Michael Enzi Budget
Health, Education Labor and Pensions
Homeland Security and Government Affairs
Joint Committee on Taxation
Rep. Jeff Fortenberry Appropriations
Rep. Virginia Foxx Education and Labor
Oversight and Reform
Joint Select Committee on Solvency of
Multiemployer Pension Plans
Rep. John Garamendi Armed Services
Transportation and Infrastructure
Rep. Greg Gianforte Energy and Commerce
Rep. Brian Higgins Budget
Rep. Doug LaMalfa Agriculture
Transportation and Insfrastructure
Rep. John Larson Ways and Means
Sen. Patrick Leahy Agriculture Appropriations Judiciary Rules and Administration
Sen. Joe Manchin III Appropriations
Energy and Natural Resources
Veterans’ Affairs
Rep. Kevin McCarthy N/A: Minority Leader
Rep. Joseph Morelle Budget
Education and Labor
Rep. Steven Palazzo Appropriations
Rep. Frank Pallone Energy and Commerce
Rep. Jimmy Panetta Ways and Means Agriculture Budget
Rep. Bill Pascrell Ways and Means
Speaker Nancy Pelosi N/A: Speaker
Rep. Scott Peters Energy and Commerce
Rep. Tim Ryan Appropriations
Rep. Steve Scalise Energy and Commerce
Rep. Darren Soto Energy and Commerce
Natural Resources
Rep. Elise Stefanik Armed Services
Education and Labor
Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence
Rep. Thomas Suozzi Ways and Means
Rep. Mike Thompson Ways and Means
Rep. Brad Wenstrup Ways and Means
Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence
Rep. Jennifer Wexton Financial Services
Science, Space and Technology
View the Associate Members of the IACD
Sen. Sherrod Brown Rep. Sander Levin
Sen. Ben Cardin Rep. Zoe Lofgren
Sen. Thomas R. Carper Rep. Stephen Lynch
Sen. Dianne Feinstein Rep. Edward Markey
Sen. Charles Grassley Rep. Betty McCollum
Sen. Robert Menendez Rep. Gregory W. Meeks
Sen. Charles Schumer Rep. Jerrold Nadler
Sen. Debbie Stabenow Rep. Grace Napolitano
Sen. Chris Van Hollen Rep. Richard Neal
Rep. Gus Bilirakis Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton
Rep. Rob Bishop Rep. Peter J. Roskam
Rep. Jim Costa Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen
Rep. Henry Cuellar Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard
Rep. Danny K. Davis Rep. Linda T. Sánchez
Rep. Raúl Manuel Grijalva Rep. Albio Sires
Rep. Alcee Hastings Rep. Jan Schakowsky
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee Rep. José E. Serrano
Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson Rep. Bill Shuster
Rep. Marcy Kaptur Rep. Christopher Smith
Rep. James R. Langevin Rep. Fred Upton
Rep. John B. Larson Rep. Maxine Waters
Rep. Barbara Lee Rep. Joe Wilson

The Frank J. Guarini Public Policy Forum

NIAF’s Frank J. Guarini Public Policy Forum assembles government officials and other thought leaders to address today’s most pressing policy issues. The Forum is held on Capitol Hill in conjunction with the Italian American Congressional Delegation (IACD) and its Co-chairs, The Honorable Bill Pascrell (NJ-9) and The Honorable Mark Amodei (NV-2).

The Forum was founded in 2004 and endowed by the Honorable Frank J. Guarini, a former Member of Congress and NIAF Chairman Emeritus. It has featured prestigious speakers and has provided a venue for the open exchange of diverse and substantive ideas.

Keynote Speakers of the Frank J. Guarini Public Policy Forum have included:

  • Samuel Alito, Associate Justice of the United States Supreme Court
  • Silvio Berlusconi, former Prime Minister of Italy
  • Ben Bernanke, former Chairman of the Federal Reserve
  • Claudio Bisogniero, former Italian Ambassador to the United States
  • Anthony S. Fauci, MD, Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
  • David Ferriero, Archivist of the United States
  • Louis Freeh, former Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation
  • Rudolph Giuliani, former Mayor of New York City
  • Alan Greenspan, former Chairman of the Federal Reserve
  • Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the House
  • Antonin Scalia, former Associate Justice of the United States Supreme Court
  • Anthony Zinni, former United States Special Envoy for Middle East Peace

The Forum is used to bolster public discourse on policy issues affecting Italian Americans and the United States at large. NIAF does not have a legislative agenda nor does it endorse the positions of the Forum’s Keynote Speakers.