Media Advisory


Contact:   Elissa Ruffino (NIAF) 202/939-3106 or


EVENT: Congressional Reception Honoring House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi
SPONSOR: Italian American Congressional Delegation and the National Italian American Foundation (NIAF)
WHEN: Tuesday, June 3, 2003
WHERE: Foyer of the Rayburn House Office Building South Capitol Street & Independence Avenue, Washington, DC
TIME: 6:30 PM to 8:00 PM

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, the only Italian American to lead a major party of the United States Congress, will be honored at a Congressional reception sponsored by the National Italian American Foundation (NIAF) and the Italian American Congressional Delegation of the 108th U.S. Congress, this Tuesday evening June 3 on Capitol Hill at 6:30 PM.

On November 14, 2002, Congresswoman Pelosi was elected by her colleagues to become House Democratic Leader. She has represented California’s 8th Congressional District, since 1987. Rep. Pelosi is a national spokesperson for the party and is responsible for the legislative strategy in the House and for keeping members informed about upcoming issues and votes. She has also served on the NIAF Board of Directors since 1994 along with other Members of Congress from both political parties.

Six United States Senators and 23 U.S. Representatives of Italian ancestry serve in the 108th U.S. Congress. Reps. James L. Oberstar and John L. Mica serve as the Co-Chairs of the Delegation. The U.S. Senate members of the Italian American Delegation to the 108th U.S. Congress include: Senators Pete V. Domenici (R-NM); John Ensign (R-NV); Michael B. Enzi (R-WY); Mary Landrieu (D-LA); Patrick J. Leahy (D-VT) and Richard J. Santorum (R-PA).

In addition to Pelosi, serving in the U.S. House of Representatives are: Representatives Robert Brady (D-PA); Virginia Brown-Waite (R-FL); Michael Capuano (D-MA); Peter DeFazio (D-OR); Rosa DeLauro (D-CT); Mike Doyle (D-PA); Mike Ferguson (R-NJ); Vito J. Fossella (R-NY); Melissa Hart (R-PA; Nicholas V. Lampson (D-TX); Frank A. LoBiondo (R-NJ); Donald Manzullo (R-IL); John L. Mica(R-FL); James L. Oberstar (D-MN); Frank Pallone (D-NJ); William J. Pascrell (D-NJ); Rick Renzi (R-AZ); Tim Ryan (D-OH); Thomas G.Tancredo (R-CO); Mike Thompson (D-CA); Pat Tiberi (R-OH); andDavid Weldon (R-FL).

Approximately 125 other Members of Congress are Associate Members of the Italian American Congressional Delegation because of the proportion of Italian Americans in their districts and their interest in the Italian American community.