29 Italian Americans Serve in the 108th U.S.Congress


Contact:   Elissa Ruffino (NIAF) 202/939-3106 or

(WASHINGTON, DC – January 24, 2003) Six United States Senators and 23 U.S. Representatives of Italian ancestry will serve in the 108th United States Congress bringing to 29 the total number of Members that comprise the Italian American Congressional Delegation, reports the National Italian American Foundation (NIAF). Reps. James L. Oberstar ( D-MN) and John L. Mica ( R-FL) will serve as the new Co- Deans of the Delegation, replacing retiring Congressman John J. LaFalce (D-NY).

“The 108th Italian American Congressional Delegation is positioned to be especially influential since we have powerful Members in both parties,” said Frank J. Guarini, NIAF chairman and a former U.S. congressman from New Jersey. “The NIAF looks forward to working closely with the delegation on our public policy agenda,” added NIAF President Joseph R. Cerrell.

The U.S. Senate members of the Italian American Delegation to the 108th Congress are: Senators Pete V. Domenici (R-NM); John Ensign (R-NV); Michael B. Enzi (R-WY); Mary Landrieu (D-LA); Patrick J. Leahy (D-VT) and Richard J. Santorum (R-PA).

Serving in the U.S. House of Representatives are: Representatives Robert Brady (D-PA); Virginia Brown-Waite (R-FL); Michael Capuano (D-MA); Peter DeFazio (D-OR); Rosa DeLauro (D-CT); Mike Doyle (D-PA); Mike Ferguson (R-NJ); Vito J. Fossella (R-NY); Melissa Hart (R-PA; Nicholas V. Lampson (D-TX); Frank A. LoBiondo (R-NJ); Donald Manzullo (R-IL); John L. Mica (R-FL); James L. Oberstar (D-MN); Frank Pallone (D-NJ); William J. Pascrell (D-NJ); Nancy Pelosi (D-CA); Rick Renzi (R-AZ); Tim Ryan (R-OH); Thomas G.Tancredo (R-CO); Mike Thompson (D-CA); Pat Tiberi (R-OH) and David Weldon (R-FL).

Approximately seventy additional Members of Congress are Associate Members of the Italian American Congressional Delegation because of the proportion of Italian Americans in their districts and their interest in the Italian American community.

Congressman John L. Mica

Congressman John L. Mica of Florida’s Seventh Congressional District

Congressman James L. Oberstar

Congressman James L. Oberstar of Minnesota’s Eighth Congressional District